modern danceHello Ladies I am in the BEST mood! I had Modern Dance class tonight!!!! I have it every Thursday from 5:30-8:30pm….that’s right 3 hours of non-stop DANCING!!!!  I used to dance as a child and into my teens.  It is a passion of mine.  This semester I needed to add just one more unit to my class load, I thought Modern Dance I am soooo there!

I really love my teacher, she is a hoot! Straight out of Flashdance.  We do an hour of warm ups- typically ballet style then stretches, and fun free expressions across the floor.  We also run around the room and make shapes with partners. Hehe- there a few boys in the class and I get kinda nervous touching them- I am such a 4th grader sometimes!  My teacher incorperates lot of  Martha Graham-esq movements.  I LOVE IT!  We are learning a routine too, so that basically makes up our class.  I leave drenched in sweat  and my arms get a really good workout

I was especially sore today from last nights yoga class!!!! I went to the gym to “burn some steam”.  I did 20 min on the Stairclimber while reading the new Los Angeles Magazine that featured the “Best Urban Farming Guru’s”   I am really interested in growing my own fruits and veggies! I would love to live on a farm, have a simple life of feeding chickens, gardening and having my OWN practice ( ie: not work in a hospital like most RD’s do).  But I am getting a bit carried away…so… back to the gym:) 

Lucky me there was a yoga class with one of my fave instructors at the Y, Kaitlyn, so I knew I was in for a treat!  She is not the hardest or the most calming of teachers, but there is something I really like about her classes.  I can’t put my finger on it.  It is just your basic yoga really; she starts with a slow build of Sun Salutations into a full flow about a hundred times!  My arms are pretty pathetic. I can never do that many Planks to Sticks or push ups, my arms start to shake all over when I am lowering my self down, and usually I end up belly flopping and going straight into Cobra.  Alas, I love the class.  She has us do a bit of everything: balancing, standing poses, floor work and then of course Shivasyna-resting pose- THE BEST!  I try to clear my head and make room for positive vibes.

So I know I promised some Humus meals, and I did have some today, but my BF needed the camera again today so they will have to wait.  Sorry if you were holding your breath. LOL.  But instead I can show you some of my Blackberry Crap-berry pics.  I had the lovely new bar I got at WF yesterday for my mid-morning snackie.

Sun Valley Bar

Sun Valley Bar

I know this pic is blurrraaay sorry, bar was really good though.  This is the Goji Lemon flavor.  Yummy! Very lemony in a zesty type way.  Nice oaty toasty flavor too. Not artificial tasting at all! No surprise there, here are the ingrediants:

Sun Valley Bar-Goji Lemon

  • Organic Oats
  • Brown Rice Syrup
  • Almond Butter 🙂
  • Brown Rice Flour
  • Organic Maple Syrup
  • Pumpkin Seeds
  • Date Paste
  • Almonds, Walnuts
  • Apples
  • Organic Goji Berries
  • Organic Ground Flaxseed
  • Organic Sesame Seeds
  • Soy protein
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Natural Lemon flavor
  • Sea Salt

Hey not bad huh?  I found the texture SPOT ON as far as bars go for me.   The only downside was it left me a bit thirsty…maybe the salt.  But I will for sure get this bar again.  Not only was it under $2.00, but it kept me satiated until well past noon.  The WF had 2 flavors of this brand.  I can not recal the other, but I am curious.

Lunch today was the one and only Green Peas Raw Kale Salad- Cassandra stylewith Teryaki Tofu.

Green Peas Raw Kale Salad

Green Peas Raw Kale Salad

Once again sorry for the poopy pic.  This was a glorious lunch, this salad never fails to satisfy!

For dinner I went light with some humus (pics and recipe coming soon) and raw veggies with a GREEN JUICE!!!! The ladies at Pur 2 Raw are diving into a 7 day cleanse.  I have no space in my schedule now for a juice fast or feast of any kind.  Those cleanses take a lot of planning for me to stick to them.  But that doesn’t mean I can’t bust out my ol’ Champion Jucier and get some greens in!!!

 

pretty tye-dye colors

pretty tye-dye colors

aftermath of pulverising

aftermath of pulverizing

In this Juice:

  • 1 red delicious apple
  • head of roamain heart
  • 1/2 full stalk of celery
  • 2 lemons
  • 2 carrots
  • 1/2 english cucumber

This list made A LOTof juice.  So I went against all fresh juicing rules and mason jarred half and stuck it in the fridge for tomorrow.  I know I know…”but the quality of vitamins and minerals in juice is lost like that”. But hey better some 12 hour old juice than none at all RIGHT?

 

Ok lovelies I must get some beauty rest!!! I have a quiz tomorrow and then off to work, so I will be back on the weekend to fill you in on the happs.

Love +dancing, Cassandra

